Birth Records

Recorder

Minnesota birth certificates are available at any courthouse in Minnesota as long as you were born after 1935. For Minnesota birth records prior to 1935, contact the County Registrar where the birth took place. 

If you were not born in Minnesota, contact the National Center for Health Statisticsfor more information.

HOW TO APPLY FOR A BIRTH CERTIFICATE: You are required by Minnesota Statutes, Section 144.225 Subd. 7 to have tangible interest in the birth record. You have tangible interest if you are the subject; parent of subject; child of subject; grandparent of subject; spouse of subject; or grandchild of subject. Other examples of Tangible Interest

An application form can be obtained in person, by mail, or downloaded below. We do not process applications through the Internet or by fax; only an original Minnesota Department of Health application will be accepted. 

IN PERSON 
1.  You will need to fill out an application and bring valid identification in with you (ie: driver's license or tribal ID). Other Acceptable Documents for Identity Subd. 8 will be accepted as defined in Minnesota Statutes, Section 4601.2600. 
2.  In order to process your application, you must fully complete the application form to the best of your ability.

  • Complete the "Birth Record" information.
  • Indicate your tangible interest (If items 2-11 apply, legal documentation must be provided)
  • Complete the "Applicant" information 

3.  The fee is $26 for the first copy and $19 for each additional copy of the same record obtained in the same transaction.  

4.  WE ACCEPT CASH, CHECK OR CREDIT CARDS.  (THERE WILL BE A 3% CONVENIENCE FEE FOR ALL CREDIT CARD TRANSACTIONS). 


BY MAIL 
1.   Download a Birth Certificate Application or call to have one mailed to you.  
2.   In order to process your application, you must fully complete the application form to the best of your ability.

  • Complete the "Birth Record" information
  • Indicate your tangible interest (If items 2-11 apply, legal documentation must be provided)
  • Complete the "Applicant" information
  • Sign the application in front of a registered notary 

3.   The fee is $26 for the first copy and $19 for each additional copy of the same record obtained in the same transaction.  
4.   Mail check or money order payable to "Pine County Recorder" 


Non-Certified Birth Record:
A non-certified birth record is a plain paper copy of the record. It has information only and will not be accepted for any legal purpose. Demonstration of tangible interest is not required; however, release of non-certified copies of confidential birth records is restricted. You can also come into our office and fill out an application; bring in valid identification. 

Non-Certified Birth Certificate Application
  

BIRTH_CERTIFICATE_APPLICATION

Minnesota birth certificates are available at any courthouse in Minnesota as long as you were born after 1935. For Minnesota birth records prior to 1935, contact the County Registrar where the birth took place. 

If you were not born in Minnesota, contact the National Center for Health Statisticsfor more information.

HOW TO APPLY FOR A BIRTH CERTIFICATE: You are required by Minnesota Statutes, Section 144.225 Subd. 7 to have tangible interest in the birth record. You have tangible interest if you are the subject; parent of subject; child of subject; grandparent of subject; spouse of subject; or grandchild of subject. Other examples of Tangible Interest

An application form can be obtained in person, by mail, or downloaded below. We do not process applications through the Internet or by fax; only an original Minnesota Department of Health application will be accepted. 

IN PERSON 

1.  You will need to fill out an application and bring valid identification in with you (ie: driver's license or tribal ID). Other Acceptable Documents for Identity Subd. 8 will be accepted as defined in Minnesota Statutes, Section 4601.2600. 
2.  In order to process your application, you must fully complete the application form to the best of your ability.

  • Complete the "Birth Record" information.
  • Indicate your tangible interest (If items 2-11 apply, legal documentation must be provided)
  • Complete the "Applicant" information 

3.  The fee is $26 for the first copy and $19 for each additional copy of the same record obtained in the same transaction.  

4.  WE ACCEPT CASH, CHECK OR CREDIT CARDS.  (THERE WILL BE A 3% CONVENIENCE FEE FOR ALL CREDIT CARD TRANSACTIONS). 


BY MAIL 
1.   Download a Birth Certificate Application or call to have one mailed to you.  
2.   In order to process your application, you must fully complete the application form to the best of your ability.

  • Complete the "Birth Record" information
  • Indicate your tangible interest (If items 2-11 apply, legal documentation must be provided)
  • Complete the "Applicant" information
  • Sign the application in front of a registered notary 

3.   The fee is $26 for the first copy and $19 for each additional copy of the same record obtained in the same transaction.  
4.   Mail check or money order payable to "Pine County Recorder" 


Non-Certified Birth Record:

A non-certified birth record is a plain paper copy of the record. It has information only and will not be accepted for any legal purpose. Demonstration of tangible interest is not required; however, release of non-certified copies of confidential birth records is restricted. You can also come into our office and fill out an application; bring in valid identification.