Death Records

Recorder

Minnesota death certificates are available at any courthouse in Minnesota if the death occurred from 1997 to the present. For Minnesota deaths prior to 1997, contact the County Registrar where the death took place.

If the individual did not die in Minnesota, contact the National Center for Health Statistics for more information.

HOW TO OBTAIN A DEATH RECORD:
You are required by Minnesota Statutes, Section 144.225, Subd. 7 to have Tangible Interest. Some examples of tangible interest include if you are the child of subject; parent of subject; spouse of subject; grandparent of subject; grandchild of subject; or sibling of subject. Other examples of Tangible Interest.

An application form can be obtained in person, by mail, or from the Internet. We do not process applications through the Internet or by fax; only an original Minnesota Department of Health application will be accepted.

IN PERSON:

  1. You will need to fill out an application on site and bring valid identification in with you (ie: driver's license or tribal ID). Other Acceptable Documents for Identity Subd. 8 will be accepted as defined in Minnesota Statutes, Section 4601.2600.
  2. In order to process your application, you must fully complete the application form to the best of your ability.
    1. Complete the "Death Information"
    2. Indicate the total number of copies you are requesting
    3. Indicate your tangible interest (If items 2-12 apply, legal documentation must be provided)
  3. The fee is $13 for the first copy and $6 for each additional copy of the same record obtained in the same transaction.
  4. WE ACCEPT CASH, CHECK OR CREDIT CARDS. (THERE WILL BE A 3% CONVENIENCE FEE FOR ALL CREDIT CARD TRANSACTIONS).



BY MAIL:

  1. Download a Death Certificate Application Form below or call to have one mailed to you.
  2. In order to process your application, you must fully complete the application form to the best of your ability.The fee is $13 for the first copy and $6 for each additional copy of the same record obtained in the same transaction.
    1. Complete the "Death Information"
    2. Indicate the total number of copies you are requesting
    3. Indicate your tangible interest (If items 2-12 apply, legal documentation must be provided)
    4. Sign the application in front of a registered notary
  3. Mail check or money order payable to "Pine County Recorder" 
A Non-Certified Copy of a Death Record does not require Demonstration of tangible interest. You may obtain a non-certified copy of a death record with or without the cause of death information with the form below.