How can I search a property?
You may either contact a title company, an attorney, or come in to the office and a staff member will instruct you on how to do a tract search. We also have a one-time hit in LandShark which you can search from your computer. You will need to register as a new user and the fee is $5.00 plus 25¢ per page downloaded.
What needs to be on a document for recording purposes?
Your document(s) can be mailed or brought in for recording. The fee is $46 per document. As a guide, you can use our Recording Checklist to review your document(s) to see if they meet recording requirements.
Among other things county staff reviews documents presented for recording against the requirements listed below. Failure to meet these, among other possible requirements, may cause your document to be rejected:
- Date of execution
- Name of Grantor/Grantee/Mortgagor/Mortgagee
- Complete legal description
- Proper acknowledgement (Notary seal/stamp, signatures, marital status when applicable)
- "Drafted by" statement
Other documents may require:
- Reference document number
- Mortgage - secured amount
- Deeds/Contract for Deed - CRV (required if sale involved)
- Total consideration statement
- Deeds/Contract for Deed - Well statement/disclosure
- Deeds/Contract for Deed - Grantee statement (Name and and address of Grantee)
Please note: When drafting a legal document, it is advisable to seek legal advice from an attorney to ensure your document has the intended effect. County staff does not give out legal advice.
Where do I purchase a plat map?
You may come into the Recorder's Office and look at the official plat. You may purchase a copy of the plat for $10.00.
What methods can I use for a search?
Grantor/Grantee search (seller/buyer), document number search, or legal description search.
Will the Recorder's Office help me fill out my forms?
We are not attorneys and do not practice law; therefore, we will not help in any way with the preparation of a document or give any advice regarding its preparation. Please contact an attorney or title company for assistance. This policy is strongly enforced.
Where can I obtain real estate forms?
The Minnesota Department of Commerce Website has links to Minnesota Uniform Conveyance blanks for use in completing real estate transactions and transfers.
How do I obtain a copy of a birth, death, or marriage certificate?
- Must be born in the State of Minnesota. (Birth records)
- The death must have occurred in Minnesota. (Death records)
- Must have tangible interest.
- Must have a current valid photo ID card such as a driver’s license or State ID card. (Card must include an expiration date and your date of birth)
- Complete the application form
- Signature of the applicant must be notarized (if applying by mail). Must include the appropriate fee -
- Birth: $26 for one copy, $19 for each additional copy purchased at the same time (same record).
- Death: $13 for one copy, $6 for additional copy purchased at the same time (same record).
- Check to be made payable to Pine County Recorder.
- If applying by mail, return completed application and fee to Pine County Recorder.
Information required to obtain a certified copy of a marriage record.
- Marriage records can only be obtained in the county where the license was applied for.
- Date of marriage.
- Groom's name.
- Bride's name before marriage.
- Fee - $9 per copy of marriage certificate.
- If you are requesting by mail, mail to the Pine County Recorder with the above listed information and the appropriate fee payable to Pine County Recorder.
How do I apply for a marriage license?
You can apply for your license at the Recorder’s Office as long as you are getting married in Minnesota. You must apply in person. Prior to coming in, review the Marriage Requirements List. Call if you have any further questions.
How can I qualify for the reduced marriage license fee?
You must complete 12 hours of premarital education to qualify for the reduced cost of $40. In order to receive the discounted price, you must have the Reduced Marriage Fee Educator's Statement signed by a licensed or ordained minister or a person authorized to solemnize marriage under Minnesota Statues, Section 148B.33. This completed form needs to be brought in at the time of application.
Where can I apply for a passport?
Pine County does not issue passports. Click on passports for a list of agencies in the area that can assist you with the process.