Recording Checklist


Please check the following BEFORE SENDING in for recording:


  • Document dated
  • Document signed
  • Acknowledgment needs:
  • Legal Description (Check to see if complete)
  • Date
  • Legible Notary Seal, Notary Signature, Notary Commission Expire Date, Names AND marital status (single or husband and wife) of signatures being acknowledged
  • If Corporate acknowledgment (business name,who signs & their titles
  • Exhibits are attached
  • Legal Description (Check to see if complete)
  • Exhibits are attached
  • "Drafted by:" Include name & address
  • Filing fees
  • White-out is unacceptable on any legal documents


  • State Deed Tax included (Purchase price times .0033 = Deed Tax)
  • Completed Certificate of Real Estate Value
  • “Send Tax Statements to:” Include name & address
  • Are there delinquent taxes due?
  • If split in tax parcel – all current taxes must be paid
  • If applicable, statement regarding “Total consideration for this transfer is $1000 or less” (Enclose $1.65 Deed Tax)
  • Completed Well Certificate and $50 fee OR one of the statements that apply:

The Seller certifies that the seller does not know of any wells on the described real property.

"I am familiar with the property described in this instrument and I certify that the status and the number of wells on the described real property have not changed since the last previously filed well disclosure certificate."



  • Correction Documents (Need to have new signatures and new acknowledgement along with a Correction Statement.)
  • Mortgage Registration Tax included (Mortgage amount times .0023 – Mtg. Reg. Tax)
  • Warranty Deed completing a Contract for Deed must have a well statement signed by the buyers OR a Well Certificate with the $50 fee.
    Pine County does not require a conservation fee.
  • ****By Minnesota Statute when document is presented for recording, you must indicate (preferably on your cover letter) whether document is to be recorded in "Abstract" or "Torrens" MN Statute 508.76 Sub. 2

Minnesota Statutes 507.093 Standards for Documents to be recorded
Minnesota Statutes 508.82 Registrar's Fees